Skip to main content
In an emergency call 999

Hide Your Tracks

If you are worried about someone seeing the websites you have visited, there are a few simple steps you can do to help with this. Please be aware it is impossible to completely hide your tracks online but it is possible to cover your movements online by following the advice below.

This site includes a “Hide this Site” button on every page. If you click on this it will take you straight to the Google homepage but it will not clear your browsers ‘history’ or ‘cache’. To clear your browsers history you will need to do the following:

Find out which internet browser you are using, and look at the relevant advice below: 

Firefox

  • click on the Firefox button and select History menu
  • click Clear recent History
  • select a time range from the drop down list
  • click Clear Now

Internet Explorer 7.0 and 8.0

  • click Tools drop-down menu and select Internet Options
  • under Browsing History click Delete
  • delete browsing history by clicking each delete button as required or click the Delete All button
  • click Close and then Click OK to confirm the deletion

Alternatively

  • click the Tools drop-down menu and select Delete Browsing History
  • click each delete button in turn as required or click Delete All
  • click Close to confirm

Internet Explorer 9.0

  • click the "gear" icon in the top right hand corner of the screen and select Internet Options
  • under Browser History click Delete
  • Select Temporary Internet files, History, Download History, Cookies, Passwords, Form data and InPrivate Filtering data
  • ensure Preserve Favourites website data is not ticked
  • click on Delete to clear everything

Internet Explorer 10.0 and 11.0

  • click the Tools button on the top right hand side of the screen
  • point to Safety and then click Delete browsing history
  • click on Delete